International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Peoples of the North

Alaska is the northwestern-most of the United States and the only state that extends into the Arctic. Most of the state is included in the AMAP assessment, the exception being the southeastern ‘panhandle.’ It is a wider area than the US definition of Arctic Alaska; see the figure opposite. There are three groups of Alaska Natives, commonly called Aleut, Inuit (or Eskimo), and Indian. About 73000 of them live in the area of AMAP’s responsibility, where they make up about 15 percent of the population. In many rural areas, they are in the majority.

807: Persistent Toxic Substances, Food Security, and Indigenous Peoples of the Russian North

11 Aug 2014


Peoples of the North.pdf