International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Okavango River Basin Commission (OKACOM)

Guided by the spirit of managing the Okavango River Basin as a single entity, the three sovereign states of Angola, Botswana and Namibia agreed to sign the "OKACOM Agreement" in 1994, in Windhoek, Namibia. The Agreement commits the member states to promote coordinated and environmentally sustainable regional water resources development, while addressing the legitimate social and economic needs of each of the riparian states.

Monica Morrison Director
Mpaphi Casper Bonyongo Senior Scientific Officer