International Waters learning Exchange & Resource Network

Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organization (ACTO)

The Amazon Cooperation Treaty (ACT), signed on July 1978 by Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, Suriname and Venezuela, is a legal instrument that recognizes the transboundary nature of the Amazon. Until the 1970's, environmental preservation was no more than a commitment in light of the 1972 Stockholm Declaration that considered environmental protection one of the future priorities of mankind. The ACT reaffirms the Amazon countries' sovereignty and encourages, institutionalizes and guides regional cooperation between them.

Maria Apostolova International Waters Specialist
Norbert Fenzl Regional Coordinator-GEF Amazon Project: Water Resources and Climate Change
Magno Antonio Matamoros Coordinator of Environment
Maria Eugenia Corvalan Gallegos Communications Officer
Theresa Castillion Elder Environment Coordinator